Genius Hour: taking the first steps

As my previous posts states, my genius hour project is regarding the struggle of students in school that suffer from speech disorders such as stuttering. Stuttering in school kids is a theme that is barely talked about and is rare when mentioned amongst adults, however most people consider it as a simple bad habit in children that fades away as they get older. Even though I believe that this is not the case, I think technology that can assist with this is and should be very important.

While searching many different sources including the Flip Grid assignments from my colleagues in the course, I found that not many students had volunteered to choose a topic such as speech disability in schools. Now, I do not feel like this is a shocker. This is because not many students are aware of the issue, unless personally death with. When I was growing up many students would make fun of my disability as a joke and not as an actual problem. However a student names Olivia Jones is using speech as her theme in her Genius Hour Project. Because her project deals with speech in children, she may have some input to add to my topic. I tweeted her account a day back and hope fully in the days to come we will see many updates and fresh resources about my topic.

I am not only trying to use Flip Grid and other students in my class to help me gain further knowledge on my topic, but I am also using other professional and nonprofessional accounts to find a sense of renewal to my project. One of the most valuable sources of information was Second City Speech @Spkeffectively. The woman that runs this twitter use to be a former math and english teacher in elementary school but is now a speech counselor at her local middle school. She has an enemies amount of knowledge to share. She stated in one of her tweets that time it takes to say a speech is not remembered when the content is worth the wait. This statement adds light to many students with a struggle to complete sentences quickly

Finally in this week’s tasks we were assigned to help out on a twitter conversation, This job, in my opinion, was very difficult becuase I was new to twitter chat however as I began finding many interesting chats regarding changes with child disability in schools. Pt Chat was the source that I used the most to discuss to current school faculty about potential changes that should occur with speech impairment such as stuttering in kids and how equality inside of classroom can be maintained with this at hand. Chatting in this conversation with the hashtag #PtChat and #10assumptions game me the confidence that my genius hour project needed. I realized that there is an immense pool of knowledge waiting to be found.

Leave a comment